Webinar: Collaboration and Communication: Primary Source Literacy and Faculty Engagement

Collaboration and Communication: Primary Source Literacy and Faculty Engagement”

Tuesday, May 28 2019, at 2:00 EST / 1:00 CST / 12:00 MST / 11:00 PST

*Free to all participants*

Recording of the Webinar now available on ACRL YouTube Channel

We are thrilled to announce the first of the RBMS Instruction & Outreach Committee’s training webinars focused on teaching with primary sources. Our presenters will be Ashleigh Coren, the Special Collections Librarian for Teaching and Learning at the University of Maryland, and Jesse Erickson, Assistant Professor and Senior Assistant Librarian at the University of Delaware. Together they will discuss a number of topics, including ways to maintain transparency and boundaries when conducting outreach, defining capacity for an educational program, how to shift teaching models for long term instruction vs. short term instruction, and talking with faculty about introducing primary source literacy into their curriculum.

Speakers

Ashleigh Coren (University of Maryland)
Title: Quantity or Quality? Examining the Labor behind Critical Primary Source Literacy
Synopsis: An early career librarian discusses the importance of maintaining transparency and boundaries when conducting educational outreach with teaching faculty. The presentation will also address the difficulty in defining capacity for an educational program and steps one can take to prevent overload or burnout.

Jesse Erickson (University of Delaware)
Title: A Foot in Both Camps: A Collaborative Approach to Departmental Integration
Synopsis: This session will examine the strengths, benefits, and challenges involved with fully integrating library faculty in an academic department. It will cover the ways in which a collaborative approach to library faculty integration can help to promote sustained, mutually constructive relationships between the library and the larger faculty community.