TPS Fest 2022 – August 2, 3, and 4, 2022

This event webpage is the main public access point for sharing information about the schedule, updates, and all things TPS Fest 2022.

Do you Teach with Primary Sources, or want to share and learn with other like-minded people with all levels and types of experience? Join your colleagues for an informative and fun event, with a variety of attendee-driven sessions or happenings, covering all aspects of Teaching with Primary Sources!


Event Details

When: August 2, 3, and 4, 2022 (Tues, Wed, Thurs)

Where: Mostly zoom — it’s shaping up to be an all-virtual event

Registration: Is free! Register below for any of the sessions you’d like to attend; registration is through zoom, and you’ll be sent the zoom link after you register. If you’re undecide on which session you want to attend at a certain time, you may register for multiple.

Who: You — if you teach with primary sources, or want to share and learn with other like-minded people with all levels and types of experience.

Recordings and Notes: Sessions will not be recorded, but we invite attendees to add notes to a collaborative note-taking document that will be available here on the event site in the weeks afterwards.


What’s on the schedule so far?

Tuesday, August 2nd

Tuesday, August 2, 12pm ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT

Tuesday, August 2, 2pm ET / 1pm CT / 12pm MT / 11am PT

Tuesday, August 2, 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

  • Teaching with Primary Sources as a Liaison/Instruction Librarian CANCELLED
    Register | more info

Wednesday, August 3rd

Wednesday, August 3, 12pm ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT

Wednesday, August 3, 2pm ET / 1pm CT / 12pm MT / 11am PT

  • Beyond one-shots: Extended and embedded instruction by Librarians and Archivists (60 minutes)
    Register | more info
  • Primary Source Instruction at Small Academic Institutions (60 minutes)
    Register | more info

Wednesday, August 3, 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

Thursday, August 4th

Thursday, August 4, 12pm ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT

Thursday, August 4, 2pm ET / 1pm CT / 12pm MT / 11am PT

Thursday, August 4, 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT


But what is TPS Fest?

TPS Fest is the latest experiment in creating a more open-community and decentralized approach to the TPS unconferences of the past couple years (see below for what those are). Every year is different, and this one is no different! Join us to gather online, share ideas, and learn together. It’s up to you to imagine and make this happen. We’re hoping that this will create space for folks in our community to try new things and have conversations they’ve hoped for. Some ideas could include:

  • Community calls
  • Skill sharing workshops
  • Reading groups
  • Working groups
  • In-person local meetups
  • Something amazing we’ve never imagined before?!

How do I get updates, get involved, help, volunteer, etc?

Because of the community-driven nature of this event and the open-permission planning documents at this point, we’re using a layer of security. To access the working documents:

Planning documents are being shared on the TPS Collective listserv. You can sign up here>>, or email Jen Hoyer at tpsfest-at-tpscollective-dot-org

Why should you be excited?
This is our 8th annual community-driven event in this vein!
See what happened at the more traditional unconferences in 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, and 2015.
To get a feel for the event and what we learned:
• Read the 2019 Event Recaps in the RBMS Instruction & Outreach Newsletter and SAA Archival Outlook
• Check out the Zine 2018 for the TPS Unconference »

TPS Fest 2022 is generously co-supported the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of ALA-ACRL, the Society of American Archivists, and many many volunteers from the thriving TPS Community.

Interested in More TPS?

Watch the TPS Listserv for more information (sign up for the Listserv here).


TPS Fest 2022 is generously co-supported the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of ALA-ACRL, the Society of American Archivists, and many volunteers from the thriving TPS Community.

SAA logo
RBMS logo