TPS Article Discussion Club – Ongoing – SAA-TPS Committee

The TPS Article Discussion Club is a drop-in, drop-out casual Zoom discussion with your peers where we can share insights and ideas based around a pre-selected article and topic. The meetings are organized by the SAA-TPS Committee and they’re open to anyone, at all levels of experience!

Friday November 19, 2021 3-4pm Eastern / 12noon-1pm Pacific
Reading: FYRE in Special Collections: Exploring Scientific History in a First-Year Research Experience Course, by Rachel Makarowski and Ginny Boehme, which is available freely online. This is the latest publication in SAA’s Teaching with Primary Sources Case Studies series.
Register: Zoom-register in advance for this meeting here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Friday August 13, 2021 2-3pm Eastern / 11am-12noon Pacific
Reading: Teaching with Artifacts and Special Collections by Lois Hendrickson, which is available freely online. This was a great way to discuss how we can incorporate active learning techniques as we started planning for instruction for the fall semester. (registration closed after event)

Friday May 14, 2021 2-3pm Eastern / 11am-12noon Pacific
Reading: Comparing the Impact of Physical and Digitized Primary Sources on Student Engagement by Meggan Press and Meg Meiman, which is available freely online. This was a great way to discuss how we can incorporate teaching in-person with teaching online as we headed towards the Fall 2021 late-COVID semester. (registration closed after event)

Check out the TPS Bibliography for more articles on Teaching with Primary Sources.